L'Orchestra dell'Arte

bringing live music closer to you

L'Orchestra dell'Arte - bringing live music closer to you

Lunchtime at the Atkinson

atkinson6atkinson4

Orchestra dell’Arte in Southport!

 

On the first Monday of the month players from the orchestra and their guests perform short lunchtime concerts at The Atkinson on Lord Street commencing at 1.00pm. So why not take a 45-minute break for some easy listening over a cup of tea or coffee?

Monday 3rd April 2017

Souvenir de Florence

  • Tchaikovsky’s iconic string sextet

Dell’Arte string soloists – Andrew Winter, Wendy Dickinson, Cathy Perkins, Tom Dickinson, Cathie Bunting  and Edward Peak.

Monday 1st May 2017

The Spohr Nonet

  • Spohr – Nonet for winds and strings

This lyrical music for winds and strings has been emulated many times but not yet surpassed.

FlyerPhoto Dave Armitage-comp-wMonday 3rd July 2017

Fayre Play

FayrePlay treat you to a light-hearted romp through several hundred years of European folk and dance music, played on a variety of period instruments.
The performance is interspersed with information about the instruments and a few anecdotes thrown in for good measure. A rare chance for those of you who don’t know a cornamuse from a crumhorn, to experience the sound of music from a bygone age.

Monday 7th August 2017

Shepherds, Nymphs and Fa La Las

  • A collection of madrigals and part songs

Exordium

Monday 4th September 2017

Revolution and Romance

  • Beethoven – Cello Sonata op.5 No 1 in F
  • Chopin – Cello Sonata op.65 in G minor

Robert Buller – cello
Hazel Nguyen – piano

Monday 2nd October 2017

The Guitar

Davide Sciacca will be playing traditional music for guitar and some melodious Italian Opera.

Monday 6th November 2017

Clarinet Trios

  • Beethoven – Clarinet Trio
  • Farrrenc – Clarinet Trio

Valeri Warr, Cathie Bunting, Stephanie Howard

Monday 4th December 2017

  • Tuille Sextet

ODA soloists

Dates for 2018

  • Monday 8th January
  • Monday 5th February
  • Monday 5th March
  • Monday 9th April

 

Orchestra dell’Arte makes every effort to avoid making changes
to published programmes but, in special circumstances,
reserves the right to do so.